PDA

View Full Version : A "lurker" finally posts to the board...

NY Fish Taco
06-28-2011, 11:36 AM
Okay... so I've been reading this board for a few months now, gleaning all I can from all of you experienced yak anglers and decided to finally step forward and introduce myself...

I'm a former San Diegan angler who still misses his hometown fishery from time to time, and lives vicariously through your posts...

I'm new to kayak fishing, but not new to fishing at all. I cut my teeth fishing suburban ponds in the San Fernando Valley catching catfish and bluegill, and then spent my major growing years learning to fish the saltwater from half-day boats out of Mission Bay and Pt. Loma in San Diego... it was all I could afford to do... scrounging and scraping the money together to get a ticket on a "cattleboat" for a chance at some hot action off La Jolla or Imperial Beach, or wherever. Later in High School a buddy & I fished his 16' Glasspar all over Mission Bay, SD Bay, LJ and wherever we could get it with the gas money we had...

Later in life, after I got married & moved back to L.A. - I spent a great many summers camping, backpacking, and fishing the streams and lakes of the Eastern Sierras. Wasn't until a short stint in Utah a decade later did I find myself plying the blue ribbon trout stream of the Provo River with a long rod in my hand. After catching my 1st trout on a fly rod, (an 18" German Brown no less), from that first guided trip on the Provo River my wife bought me as a gift for our 10 yr. anniversary... did I ever look back. The Fly Fishing bug was firmly planted and I was a fan. I still love all kinds of fishing however, but there is something special about fly fishing nonetheless.