PDA

View Full Version : no joke

jimbo
11-04-2006, 03:16 PM
As a scientist, I can assure you that anything published in Science is solid. There's no doubt that we (as a world) are are overfishing the oceans.
I think that Florida is a good success story to look at though. They tightened the commercial regs, implemented slot limits to allow breeding on some species, and cracked down on enforcement. The Fla fisheries have really turned around as a result. Not like they were 25 years ago, but definitely much better than 10 years ago. Their recovery was fueled mostly because the locals began to realize the losing the sport-fishing tourism outweighed the interests of commercial fisherman.
I'm glad people are interested in this. I know this is likely to attract some flack, but actually I'd like to see tighter restrictions for commercial and sport fishers here for our own good.

DaveC
11-04-2006, 04:33 PM
Jimbo, I'd be happy to see greater restrictions on commercial fisherman, slot limits, reduced bag limits (who needs 10 calico bass) and seasonal closures on specific species. What I can't tolerate is wholesale closures of vast areas of productive structure to recreational fisherman. Closures is what we are facing in the near future it appears. Enjoy La jolla while we can.

Dave

nmbrinkman
11-06-2006, 11:01 AM
As a scientist, I can assure you that anything published in Science is solid.

I don't claim to be Einstein but it's hard to take "solid" findings to only have them either disproven or argued by another scientist. Your thoughts?

madscientist
11-06-2006, 11:42 AM