PDA

View Full Version : Questions regarding Fish Finder

l8kerz42
02-10-2014, 06:41 PM
I was hoping you all could share your experiences with different fish finders as I am new to the game. Could you please add personal experiences as well as cost? Thanks!

Cadillyak
02-10-2014, 07:54 PM
Lowrance HDS-5. Last one you will ever need. Does it all, including setting the hook!

Dannowar
02-11-2014, 07:10 AM
Hds5 is only 600 at west marine now

The pelican
02-11-2014, 09:03 AM
I agree the HDS5 is a great unit for the money. I have the Elite 4x and like it just fine for a basic unit for fishing La Jolla. There are things you can do to get better performance at a good cost if $600 isn't in your budget. Mounting the transducer directly in the water made a huge difference. Not trying to contradict myself but if you're getting into the sport, it can pay to just go for the better unit from the get go. I can't tell you how much money I wasted starting out kayak fishing because I wanted to save a few bucks on some cheaper gear and then upgraded later. Hope this helps.

jorluivil
02-11-2014, 10:52 AM
I started off with the Eagle Cuda 350, it was only $175 out the door. It's a pretty basic unit but it has what you'll need (GPS & Sonar). If you're just getting into the sport I would start off with something basic, this way if you decide kayak fishing is not for you you're not going to lose much.

After a year or so I went ahead and purchsed a Gen2 HDS-5, If I remember I believe I paid roughly $800 out the door including a two year warranty from WestMarine.......its an awesome unit. If you decide to pay a top notch unit buy it from a reputable store like WestMarine. If you decide to buy from WM get yourself on their mailing list and wait for a sale, a coupon or manufacturer rebate.

YakAttak
02-11-2014, 11:12 AM