Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge

Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/index.php)
-   General Kayak Fishing Discussion (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Battery Powered Air Pump (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/showthread.php?t=18424)

Emerson Biggins 06-11-2013 07:51 AM

Battery Powered Air Pump

I'm just getting into yaking and recently, I bought a Stealth 14. I have seen the bait tank plumbed with a bilge pump, but I was wondering if anyone has used one of those portable battery-powered aquarium air pumps, with an air stone, to keep the live well alive? Does it work or do you recommend plumbing the bilge pump or using an external live-well bucket?

Thanks

usmp06 06-11-2013 07:56 AM

I have a stealth 12 with the pump kit installed and it works great. No problems keeping fish alive.

easyday 06-11-2013 08:19 AM

I dont think the arreartor would work very well

Amish Ed 06-11-2013 10:07 AM

Aerators work fine for a live well (i.e. for tournament fishing). But, they suck for bait tanks.

alanw 06-11-2013 09:16 PM

I have a stealth 12 with the bait tank plumbed. The hardest thing I had to do was decide whether or not to drill a 1" hole through the bottom of the boat. All said and done no leaks and hope for no failures in the future.

I found that you can mount the bilge through the drain hole in the bottom of the bait tank (with a thread adapter) if you don't mind the bilge taking up space in it. I ran it that way for a little while before mounting it through-hull.

An external bait tank would work and you could use the built in bait tank for storage instead, but then why get a stealth? Keeping all that water low in the kayak probably helps stability as opposed to the weight up high in an external tank.

oneyedeer 06-12-2013 08:36 AM

portable air pump will supply oxygen....but bait poops so they die of intoxication

Raskal311 06-12-2013 08:55 AM