Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge

Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/index.php)
-   General Kayak Fishing Discussion (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Binoculars/Monoculars (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/showthread.php?t=13494)

MrM 05-06-2012 10:56 AM

Binoculars/Monoculars

How many of you carry Bino's/Mono's with you on your 'yak? I am going to be picking up a Monocular here soon, and wondered if you guys carry anything when you go out.

This will serve a dual purpose for me... I'm a Safety Manager, and occasionally I get to "watch people" if you catch my drift. (workers comp fraud is a big thing with my company)

My old pair of Bino's are huge, and draw far too much attention to me. Any recommendations?

RockyRaab 05-06-2012 03:19 PM

Trust me on this (I've written professionally about optics)...

You want compact binos with no more than 8X and an objective lens of 20-30. More power and you won't be able to hold them still while on waves. The objective lens has nothing to do with "wide view" but only with light gathering. Unless you go out at night, 8x30 is more than enough. You can find a gazillion compact models of 10x24 or so - and they'll be okay, but you'll have a tough time holding your interest item in the frame. A compact 7x24 would be MUCH better.

A monocular offers NO depth perception, and forces you to squint the "off" eye, which is very tiresome after more than a few seconds.

CheapPelican 05-06-2012 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrM (Post 117062)
...My old pair of Bino's are huge, and draw far too much attention to me. Any recommendations?

I like looking at boobs too.

Whizz Bang 05-06-2012 10:26 PM

Mono.........BUT........I have purchased the boardwalk and am charging insane rent.