Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge

Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/index.php)
-   Kayak Fishing Reports (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Jim Rig...Secrets Revealed (http://www.bigwatersedge.com/bwevb/showthread.php?t=25850)

Deamon 06-14-2015 03:53 PM

Jim Rig...Secrets Revealed

2 Attachment(s)
Okay...perfect timing to offer my 3rd of a series...Jim Rig secret #3...the Jim Rig, Money Saving Tip:

Most of you know "the sound"...you know, the dreaded ploop ploop. You hear it, look right at the sound's origin and you see your rod sinking out...a real bummer. For most of us yakkers, it's not a matter of if it happens, it's more like when it happens. Well, I'll man up and admit I'm at about four or five rods and reels to date. And yes...it happened again today at 70 feet. The old hip adjustment during a two rod tangle and...ploop ploop. Dammit! But I'm a veteran at this game!!!
BAM...man overboard button gets hit immediately on the fish finder...position saved!!!
I then pull out some parts and go to work...
(1) rod and reel
(1) Squid Rig
(3) 8-10 oz torpedo sinkers
(1) Megabait
(1) 2/0 treble hook
(3) Swivels
Improvise these up into a snag rigging machine...
Peddle 100 yards back to my gps location and go to work...trawling for my rig!
BAM! 2nd attempt and the heavy reeling up confirms my hope and gives my combo back. $300 saved!

I've added a photo of my catch to make this a true fishing report. Until next time!

Jim

GregAndrew 06-14-2015 04:41 PM

Wow, great to get your gameclip back! Too bad it had all that brown crap all over it.

YakDout 06-14-2015 05:46 PM

Jim rig, or jimmy rigged? double or nothing you can do that again.

StinkyMatt 06-14-2015 06:01 PM

Is it legal to have all these hooks....?

:rolleyes:

Some guys have no regard for the law, trawling ...........

:rolleyes:

Some guys!