Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-10-2013, 05:22 PM   #1
taggermike

Bounce Ball Questions

I'm rather new to this technique so any input from more experienced bouncers would be appreciated. I have the basics down but am still wondering what bait/lure to actually troll. Lots of info out there but
from the kayak perspective what have you had best success with?

Thanks Mike
taggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:28 PM   #2
Drake

Managing on a kayak is tricky, but it can be learned pretty quick. The most helpfull tip I can give you is to work in a direction opposite the flow of water, it will help keep things manageable if you speed up or slow down. It also makes it easier to lower them without a mess.

I like using white hoochies if there is no live bait to stick on the end. Make the leader from the line to the dodger the highest test, the weight the lightest and the dodger to the bait 2nd.

I usually go 50# mono from swivel to dodger, 30# floro from dodger to hooks and 10-15 on the weights. That way if you get tangled on the rocks or kelp, you only lose the cheaper stuff.

Make the leader from the dodger to the bait/hoochi about 12" to get plenty of action, and the leader from swivel to dodger about 26-30" or so. The line should never be greater than a 45deg angle with the water line. If it is, add more weight. A 2# ball always works great. The type of rod is preference. I like a stiffer rod with medium action. You get good "bounce" but can absorb the headshakes and lower your chance of ripping the hook. Greg is a great advocate of rods with good parabolic flex.

I hope this helps.
Old 12-10-2013, 07:11 PM   #3
jorluivil