Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-07-2015, 01:48 PM   #1
Fish Taco

Question How much bait in a Malibu Stealth tank?

ATTN: Malibu Stealth Owners

I am curious... in your opinion, what is the optimum quantity of pieces of bait you have had the best luck with in your Stealth bait tank? I'm talking about mostly Spanish & Greenbacks (mackerel) here... or sardines for that matter... stuff you catch yourself.

I'm new to using this tank for macks and was wondering how many one should load up in there without overcrowding. Opinions?

When I was using my tank last on Long Island, we'd flyline live Bunker (Atlantic Menhadden) for catching Stripers... and they are HUGE baits... so about 3 or 4 in the tank was MAX... more like 3...

Redondo Beach, CA
2011 Malibu Stealth 14
Fish Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 03:10 PM   #2
CardShark

+1 I have a Malibu Stealth 12 and would like to know this as well. I think the bait tanks on the 12 and 14 are the same but I haven't seen them side by side
CardShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 04:25 PM   #3
alanw
Made in U.S.A.

I had a Stealth 12 and you can put a good amount of bait in it. I had as much as 2 kayak scoops of anchovies in there which is too much (tipping the bait guy goes a long way). They started dying off so I just released some until they stop dying. One scoop is a pretty good start, the less bait in the tank the longer they last.

For sardines one kayak scoop did fine with only a few of the weaker ones dying off.