Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-11-2010, 08:54 AM   #1
jbm

Easy catches in the La Jolla kelp?

I'm a total beginner with ocean fishing and kayaking. All my prior experience has been lake fishing, though I started doing some surf fishing prior to getting my kayak. That said, I've been out on my kayak in the La Jolla kelp beds three times now. The only thing I've caught has been bait, but even that felt like an accomplishment.

Can anyone suggest some species to target and methods for a relatively easy catch out there? I know the most popular targets are yellowtail and WSB, but I get the feeling that those species may be a bit more challenging than some others. I'd like to bring up at least one fish on something other than the sabiki next time out.

And yes, I know it's called fishing and not catching for a reason, I'm just looking to maximize my chances.
jbm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 09:07 AM   #2
Willy

The way I got started, and getting my comfort out in LJ was to bring out large mouth bass weight equipment, and fish for Calico bass in the kelp.

Pound for pound, a Calico can be one of the best fighting fish out there, especially when caught on lighter equipment.

You can fish the kelp line, or inside the kelp in the sunrooms for them, using live mait or lures. I've had especially good luck using soft plastics.

If you hit up the edges of the kelpline, you can still let out a live bait on flyline in case that hungry yellow swims by.

Willy
Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 09:19 AM   #3
jbm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willy View Post