Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-12-2011, 09:46 PM   #1
TROLLIN4daBIG_ONES

Avet MXJ MC or JX MC?

Looking to buy a reel for throwing surface irons as well as trolling off the kayak. I'm pretty new to kayak fishing and thought I'de ask some people with more experience. Do i need the line capacity and extra drag of the JX? Thinking of mating the reel with a Calstar GFDH 850H rod. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
TROLLIN4daBIG_ONES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 11:17 AM   #2
Billy V

Quote:
Originally Posted by TROLLIN4daBIG_ONES View Post
Looking to buy a reel for throwing surface irons as well as trolling off the kayak. I'm pretty new to kayak fishing and thought I'de ask some people with more experience. Do i need the line capacity and extra drag of the JX? Thinking of mating the reel with a Calstar GFDH 850H rod. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
This is a popular question and usually has a long but comprehensive answer.

-I'll speak directly to the reels you mentioned. I own everything avet makes, so heres the apples to apples answer.

-For a jig stick (and yo-yo iron) I like the JX in 6:1. You can pack on 240 yards of 40 lb. and 280 of 30 lb.
It works nice for bruiser yellowtail.

The main reason I recommend the JX is its narrow frame. This will make it much easier to stack the line properly when you retrieve after each cast. Your only as good as your last cast, because if you don't wind on the line tightly and even you are going to have problems on your next cast.

-When in doubt drop your line to the bottom and re-stack your reel.