Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-26-2007, 12:39 PM   #1
HookFynn

Gear vs. Saltwater

Figured I'd throw this out to the wise and experienced masses and maybe someone could offer me some advice.

How do you all protect and preserve the reels you use for saltwater? I'm new to the world of serious saltwater fishing and 3 of my reels are now shot- 2 Abu 5500c's and a Shimano Curado. I religiously rinse and clean them when I get home and then hang them to dry in my garage but after only a few months, 3 reels are now almost completely toast.

Any suggestions? I did a lot of inshore fishing back in NY but back then I was only using spinning reels and they never rotted away like this.

Thanks in advance!

Bryan Alexander
HookFynn- "for those who FISH."
HookFynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 01:37 PM   #2
dorado50

Don't rinse them,big mistake, fresh water forces salt into reels. Just wipe down with damp cloth. Store reels on side with handle side up, any water inside will rest on" less important" componets. Have reels cleaned and inspected every so often at a tackle shop, anotherwords you will need rotating reels!
dorado50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 02:48 PM   #3
madscientist

Depends on the reels. Some high end stuff will hold up with a quick rinse and an annual regreasing. With midrange and lower stuff it's usually a matter of postponing the inevitable, with the exception being the seemingly indestructible Daiwa Sealines. Reel-X can help a bit but not much.
Old 10-26-2007, 03:49 PM   #4
Pat