Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-14-2012, 10:53 AM   #1
Biffasd3845
Newb

If you could.....

Hey guys,

I'm new to saltwater fishing, and to a lesser extent Kayak fighing in general. I grew up fishing the lakes and rivers of western and northern New York State. Most of my fishing has been from a boat or a canoe with some kayake fishing through in here and there but only fresh water fishing. I've been thinking about buying a kayak in january or febuary and then start fishing the ocean. However I have only the knowledge I've read so far to go off of. I'm still fuzzy as to what Iron is and the difference between surface Iron and other forms of it.....

Which sparked me to ask you all this.

If you where starting the sport of kayak fishing, and more specifically ocean kayak fishing all over but still had the knowledge you have now what would you do?

Thanks all
Biffasd3845 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:00 AM   #2
DanaPT

welcome

brandon hayward "getting bit". read the book. Then use the search function on this site to get all tips, tricks, and dope.

http://www.wonews.com/BlogProfile.aspx?id=9

and buy a hobie w/ mirage drive.
DanaPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:15 AM   #3
El Vato
Ron Mexico

I would have gotten a Hobie right off the bat, flat bill hat, $300 polarized sunglasses, and hired a guide, then the next time I fished on my own, I'd be an instant expert!
El Vato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:33 AM   #4
GR6RR
Lucky Fisher

So that's where I messed up, I didn't get the Hobie with Mirage drive.. I did have the flat bill hat and 300 polarized sunglasses. Next time I start over it'll be much different!