Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 02-01-2011, 10:46 AM   #1
Argentcroix
Junior

"That Guy"

So as a total newbie to kayaking and drowning bait off one, I am interested in finding out what are the major "no-no's" that you see people do. I am not talking so much about techniques or equipment choices as much as being on the water with a bunch of other folks and not being a major detraction to the experience. While I recognize that everyone has their own pet peeves, and I might get as many answers as people reading this board ('course thats kinda the point ), I am interested to know what people think is "good manners" out on the water, and what things people do that cause issues. In the interest of not re-creating the wheel, and learning from other's experience, what makes your list?
Argentcroix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:13 AM   #2
JoeBeck

I've only had one thing that has bothered me during fishing and that is someone coming up and seeing if I have caught fish while their and my line was out causing us to tangle up. Nothing I get too upset about and quick to fix but worth mentioning. I have had boats do worst where they come to talk to me and then motor across where my line is catching it in their props, take off causing me to have to snap my line. Frustrating! I'd say if you want to talk close to someone reel in your line (this is what I do) or pay attention to where both your lines are. Be careful going up behind someones kayak while they are trolling.

Besides that everyone is out there to have a good time, so enjoy yourself and the surroundings around you. Everyone I have met on the water besides the sail boat lady on SD bay have been good friendly people.
JoeBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:30 AM   #3
Deamon