Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > Kayak Fishing Reports
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-28-2011, 09:21 AM   #1
Chuck D

La Jolla Launch 5/28

Went out this morning to the shores to do what I have never done before, turned around
Everything was pointing in the direction of me not going out. Got there and there was 5 foot swells crashing far out, 1st Kayak got dumped with all his gear, couldn't find parking, clouds rolling in, wind picked up and just before I set off into the waves the lifeguard told me the boat launch was closed due to the storm coming in and extreme amount of rescues from yesterday. If you choose to go, be careful and have a safe memorial day!
Chuck D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 12:21 PM   #2
old_rookie

Interesting. I was out yesterday and was unaware of any rescues in the area. At about 2Pm when I landed the kayak tours were in full force.
old_rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 01:01 PM   #3
jorluivil

I was planning on heading there tomorrow

www.facebook.com/Teamsewer
jorluivil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 03:29 PM   #4
Iceman
Administrator

Plenty of parking tomorrow, the trick is launch in the dark so you can't see those big ol waves!

http://magicseaweed.com/Scripps-Pier...rf-Report/296/
Old 05-28-2011, 03:34 PM   #5
jorluivil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman View Post
Plenty of parking tomorrow, the trick is launch in the dark so you can't see those big ol waves!

Say whaaaaaaat!!!!????

I usually just close my eyes and paddle until I don't waves crashing anymore.

Old 05-28-2011, 03:42 PM   #6
jorluivil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman View Post

School me on these charts...what should I be looking at exactly? What's the average, or, good set size for LJ?

Old 05-28-2011, 04:07 PM   #7