Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-17-2012, 10:42 AM   #1
Salt Water Flies
Junior

Anyone have tips for outfitting a kayak for fly fishing?

I'm going to be using my kayak for fly fishing and was wondering if any of you guys have any tips for rigging the kayak specifically for fly fishing (I generally fish Florida and Cape Cod)? Generally, I'm keeping everything seat forward clean as to not tangle fly line when stripping. I'm just wondering if anyone has any ideas I'm not thinking of because I'm new to kayaking. For example line tenders, fly storage, anchor sytems, etc... Also how much will I need a landing net? It would seem that, because you can bring the fish up to the kayak close in and it is low to the water, a net would be sorta useless. I may be wrong, so any thoughts would be helpful. I won't need any electronics as most of the fishing will be sight fishing or blind casting. I have been fairly successful in the past and had a cheap fish finder in my last boat that proved useless. However, again, maybe a better fish finder would have done the trick?

Thanks for any help
Tony
Salt Water Flies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 01:27 PM   #2
StinkyMatt

Have you considered a mesh apron that would go in front of you? Similar to some float tube designs. Make sure that it would be a very easy break away in case you need to escape quickly. Quick snap attachements with a little mono break leader on your side?

If you are casting in skinny water away from your yak, a traditional FF will have limited use. It would be usefull for recon of the bottom prior to fishing.

Post up your rig and your trips, interested in getting back to throwing flies.
StinkyMatt is offline   Reply With Quote