Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-06-2012, 10:56 AM   #1
MrM

Binoculars/Monoculars

How many of you carry Bino's/Mono's with you on your 'yak? I am going to be picking up a Monocular here soon, and wondered if you guys carry anything when you go out.

This will serve a dual purpose for me... I'm a Safety Manager, and occasionally I get to "watch people" if you catch my drift. (workers comp fraud is a big thing with my company)

My old pair of Bino's are huge, and draw far too much attention to me. Any recommendations?
Old 05-06-2012, 03:19 PM   #2
RockyRaab

Trust me on this (I've written professionally about optics)...

You want compact binos with no more than 8X and an objective lens of 20-30. More power and you won't be able to hold them still while on waves. The objective lens has nothing to do with "wide view" but only with light gathering. Unless you go out at night, 8x30 is more than enough. You can find a gazillion compact models of 10x24 or so - and they'll be okay, but you'll have a tough time holding your interest item in the frame. A compact 7x24 would be MUCH better.

A monocular offers NO depth perception, and forces you to squint the "off" eye, which is very tiresome after more than a few seconds.
RockyRaab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
CheapPelican

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrM View Post
...My old pair of Bino's are huge, and draw far too much attention to me. Any recommendations?
I like looking at boobs too.
CheapPelican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:26 PM   #4
Whizz Bang

Mono.........BUT........I have purchased the boardwalk and am charging insane rent.