Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 05-14-2017, 04:08 PM   #1
jbl_91762

Anyone using liveliner/baitrunner reels

So Im looking at getting another Penn Battle II but I've learned of liveliner/baitrunner reels and wondering if any of you are fishing them. I like the idea but then again I have no idea as Im still learning. Thoughts of using these reels as I don't care to go with baitcaster set ups.
jbl_91762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 04:14 PM   #2
45user

I use baitrunner time to time. For throwing anchovies it works so well with a spinner however letting the bait run, conventional reel can't be beat.
And it's great as a loaner.
I have quite few spinner set up for the ocean and bay
But I have not used it from the kayak yet.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
45user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 05:11 PM   #3
BigAppa
Junior

I've been using Shimano bait runners for years now, even before I got into kayak fishing. Currently, I use two Shimano baitrunner 8000D for trolling, one for live bait and one for artificial. I tried with my conventionals, but I could never dial the drag to exactly what I wanted, even with the lever drags. You can dial that secondary drag on the bait runners precisely, and they're silky smooth. Plus when the fish is on, you give the handle a half turn, and you're ready to fight the fish without having to worry about clickers, levers, or knobs.