Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-23-2012, 04:24 PM   #1
Mongo Johnson

Is these fiddies and bugs safe to eat?

Hi all,

I'm up around LA County and I am just getting into dropping a line and am wondering if all this game is safe too eat . . . (No offense to Team Sewer Fishing of course).

Alas, I'm just ignorant.

I used to dive PV and NOW learn all about "DDT fields forever. . .". I wonder about stuff off Pedro and LB with LA River and San Gabriel River runoff.

Is there anything "published" about how safe stuff close in to So Cal is to eat?

Excepting white croaker being a DDT magnet, I just don't have a clue as if the local stuff's good for ya. Like bugs off the breakwater etc. Bacteria etc.

Heck the crawdads from Averill Park didn't kill me . . .
Old 10-23-2012, 06:07 PM   #2
Drake

From what I understand, lobsters have extremely advanced livers, making them safe to eat regardless of the conditions. They clear out toxins very well.

Can't comment on the fish though.
Old 10-23-2012, 07:16 PM   #3
bellcon

If you actually ate crawdads from Averill then you shouldn't worry about eating anything from any part of the ocean

I say everything in moderation (Except crawdads from Averill)

But here is the info if you really want it:

http://oehha.ca.gov/fish/so_cal/socal061709.html
Old 10-24-2012, 05:16 AM   #4
Mongo Johnson

Thanks for the link. Interesting. Hmmm.

Like, on the crawdads, we were wild Cub Scouts. Like, and it was the 70s! Dude, we just didn't know.
Old 10-24-2012, 08:06 AM   #5
bus kid
Team Keine Zugehörigkeit

Candy would eat it!

Não alimente os trolls------------Don't feed the trolls---------------インタネット荒らしを無視しろ

bus kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:30 PM   #6
kobra

Quote: