Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 11-18-2007, 04:24 PM   #1
steveooo

Tide Question

This is sort of a noob question but thats ok. I usually just fish when I get a break from teaching and don't really pay attention to the tides. What exactly am I looking for when I look at a tide chart? Big swing? Is it better to fish on the upswing or downswing? High tide or low tide? I know that asking this question 20 years after I started fishing is a little late to be asking this, but any help is appreciated.
Thanks,
Steve
steveooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 06:15 PM   #2
HookFynn

Steve,

We all got to start somewhere. I am by no means an expert, but I will try and answer your question as best I can.

It has been my experience that it doesn't really matter what tide you are fishing just so long as you are fishing it- incoming or outgoing- makes no difference, you just want the water moving. Remember that fish typically point their noses into the current to hold position and to ambush bait that is pushed into them. If you're fishing structure, make sure you're casting your bait for enough upstream to afford it the opportunity to be at the desired depth when it reaches your target. Bigger swings in tide charts do indicate a larger volume of water being exchanged during that tide and can make for some great fishing.

I hope that helps a little. Feel free to email or call me directly if you would like to have a more in-depth conversation on the subject. Our email and my number is on our website. Also be sure to check out the tides link right off the homepage; some great resources for tides, weather, and solunar forecasts.

Walk the plank,

Bryan Alexander
Captain & Founder
HookFynn- "for those who FISH."
http://www.hookfynn.com
Old 11-19-2007, 07:27 AM   #3
madscientist