Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-15-2011, 07:33 PM   #1
jerr-dog

New kayak fisher to the site.

Hey everyone just wanted to say hello to everybody. I am new to fishing, new to the site, & fairly new to kayaking . I live in the Southbay & the closest beach to me is Hermosa & Redondo Beach & often ride my bike there. I have Jackson Kayak (Allstar 2010) & a Cobra Fish N Dive which I am going to trick out in the near future. the only fish I have ever caught in my life was a Golden Trout in Treasure Lakes Bishop, Ca. Guess it is one of the most elusive fish in the backcountry? Anyway hope to get to know some of you & hope not to ask too many questions. I will be sticking to primarily salt water for now & am still piecing some gear together to make it all work. I would like to learn to surf fish as well. Peace
jerr-dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:23 PM   #2
sammysamsam

Welcome. I hope you brought your piggy bank. You are gonna need it.
sammysamsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 10:48 PM   #3
Whizz Bang

JD,

Welcome. This is addictive, not this site, the sport. Our posting on this site, our membership, and the friendships we make here and on the water are the opposite of an AA meeting. We are all full fledged practicing addicts. We come here to celebrate our personal victories, and commiserate over our losses.

IMO you need to:

1. Identify your target species.
2. Decide on where you will fish.
3. If you are on a budget, identify the absolute minimum you will need to target those fish.
4. Learn your knots.
5. Get on the water.