Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 04-01-2016, 06:06 AM   #1
Wanderingincircles
Junior

waders and safety

I've been looking around, and I see a few pics of people in waders coming off their kayaks. To me, this just doesn't make safety wise. Even with a belt, if there's any current and you unfortunately goes over, won't that still cause a big safety issue?

I get staying dry on your launch and landing, especially in our colder waters, but is it worth it?

I'm just looking for your opinions. I'm still new to kayaking (matter of fact, mine is still in the garage waiting to be taken out on its maiden voyage!), so I'm trying to get myself as ready as i can before being on the water.

Tight lines,
Jason
Wanderingincircles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 06:42 AM   #2
jorluivil

The water in your waders isn't any heavier than the water that sits outside of the waders so if you're worried about sinking its not going to happen.

Also, the waters in our coastal waters doesn't get to a point where you will have to worry about hypothermia.

https://youtu.be/2m0_naq0-qc

www.facebook.com/Teamsewer

Last edited by jorluivil; 04-01-2016 at 06:47 AM.
jorluivil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 07:21 AM   #3
YakDout
Brandon

Here is a good video made by one of the most reputable kayak fisherman around. Jim sammons exploits the myth of drowning i. Waders.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=OYwG52p4yjs

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
YakDout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 07:21 AM   #4
stevie951
Lurker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanderingincircles View Post