Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-30-2015, 05:41 PM   #1
Harry Hill

new to salt

well, I'm glad I looked here, it answers my question as to why I'm getting a black screen with the words no video at the bottom. I'm new to kayaking and kayak fishing but not new to fishing, been fishing for over 60 years. I want to come to La Jolla to fish but I can see I'm going to need a ton of help. How do I get started. I live in Yucaipa, CA so not too far away but I think it would be best to start out with a mentor. I'm reading the threads about setting up bait tanks and catching bait but tackle is a question for me, is my striper tackle adequate for fishing the kelp beds, it's handled some pretty big stripers. Do I need an anchor? I would tell you about my yak but I don't want to get laughed at too soon in the game. Anyway, thanks for any help in advance. I copied this from another thread to save myself some typing.
Harry Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:18 PM   #2
HobieScot

Welcome to the BWE Boards Harry. I think you will find that the members on this board are a wealth of knowledge and more importantly willing to share that knowledge and help others. Especially people who are new to kayak fishing.

Your striper set up will work for the kelp beds. You will mostly catch calicos in the kelp. Just outside the kelp you may run into larger species.

What is your striper set up? What rod n reel and what pound braid and Flourocarbon or mono?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
HobieScot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 08:45 PM   #3
Harry Hill

new to salt