Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-22-2010, 07:16 AM   #1
Sherm

Hull repair?

Was out at LJ yesterday and almost rolled the yak. Felt very Unstable. I opened the hatch and the hull was half full of water. I bailed everything out and continued a few more times during the day.

When I got home a found a big ding in the bottom of the keel. There is a small hole about the size of a pencil lead through the hull.

The question is....can this be repaired or am I screwed? I'm very comfortable on the old Fish n Dive. I would hate to give her up over a pin hole.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Sherm
Sherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:26 AM   #2
467echo
Rookie of the Month Club

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure the guys at OEX can fix it up.
Old 03-22-2010, 07:37 AM   #3
yani

Hey Sherm,

Here's some advice. Don't take your kayak to Wes
in Gardena for repairs.

I took my kayak there over a year ago for leak repairs.
Which I paid for, no arguments.
When I got it back, I let my brother-in-law use it.
I almost drown him, since, I never checked their repairs,
and assumed they did good work. It still leaked, in a
bad way.

So, I took it back last Dec. And I've been getting the run
around ever since. The last conversion I had, last week, went
like this: We can't afford to repair the expensive welding gun
it takes to repair your kayak. We can't afford to have any
repair workers on staff. Come and get your kayak, and repair
it somewhere else.

Apparently, Corbra doesn't honor its "life time warranty" anymore.

Sad, since I've been promoting the FnD, to many of my friends, and club
members. They all bought one. I feel bad for leading people down the wrong path.
Old 03-22-2010, 07:53 AM   #4