Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-08-2010, 07:31 AM   #1
dsafety
Olivenhain Bob

Reels 101

I need some advice. With the local Fred Hall show just around the corner, I will be shopping for a new reel to be used mainly for flylining bait while targeting YT and WSB. I have a Torium 20 and Sealine X40SHA, both of which I like. Should I be looking for another one of those or something else? I have no experience using some of the other popular reels that are out there such as Saltist, Avet, Accurate, ProGear, etc.

I suspect that reel selection often comes down to personal preference. Beyond that, I would appreciate hearing what everyone has to say on this subject. There is quite a large price range for these reels. What do you get for the extra bucks? Is there a significant performance difference between one reel and another? Is there a feature set that one has that another does not?

Bob
dsafety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 04:34 PM   #2
taggermike

There are plenty of great reels out there and I have to admit the Hall shows can be a bit over whelming with every great reel on the planet on display. The new Accurates look amazing but the price is prohibitive for me. So what I would get with the extra price is the joy of worrying about it. Some of the new Okumas were affordable and looked like they would get the job done. Then again if you like the torium 20 and the SL 40 you might want to stick with these brands but get different sizes. The sealines have been good to me and I'm still killing fish on a bought used original black and blue SL30. When, if, this reel ever dies I see no reason not to get anouther SL30. Mike
taggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:58 PM   #3
GregAndrew