Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-08-2009, 10:04 AM   #1
dsafety
Olivenhain Bob

Jig Sticks 101

I am in the market for a Jig Stick. I have no experience using one of these and am at a bit of a loss as to what to get. I know that personal preference has a lot to do with it but I would like to ask the experts in our little group for some advise. Here are the questions. If you have something to say, please weigh in.

Size? I know some like 8' others prefer 9'. What are the advantages of each.

Weight? If the target fish is YT or WSB, what weight range will be best.

Fiberglass vs Graphite? I know that there is a price difference but what is the difference in performance between these two options?

Action? Here I am really lost. Why would one choose a light, medium or heavy action?

Handle? I know that some of our most renowned experts prefer the cork handle versus the kind that comes with a built in reel mount. Why or why not?

Reels? I suspect that recommendations will be all over the map on this question. For the sake of keeping it simple, please assume that I am looking for the best value when it comes to price and performance.

Other variables?

Ok guys, here is where you can help out with the subtleties and your personal preferences. Have at it.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Bob
dsafety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:04 PM   #2
THE DARKHORSE

Jig-sticks suck.

I've heard those 7' medium action rods with a coffee grinder works well, though .
Old 11-08-2009, 06:11 PM   #3
dsafety
Olivenhain Bob

I don't get it Josh, I have watched you toss a piece of iron 70 yards with your setup. Is that huge rod of yours not a jig stick?