Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-12-2012, 06:35 PM   #1
Southman

Thanks to all for their posts

Somewhat of a newbie here. I have a Revo 11 and will soon get a Hobie bait tank for it. I've been out of Dana Point a few times and managed to catch a few rockfish and quite a few mackerel. No halibut or calicos yet. I'm kind of learning the spots which is a little difficult w/o a fishfinder.

So thanks to all those who post their reports. I am leaning a lot about what you do to catch some of your fish. Many of you don't want to give up your "secret spots" which is certainly understandable. But giving the general area you fish, what you use, the time of day, tides, etc. really help someone like me who is just getting into the fun of hanging out fishing in the ocean.

My frozen anchovies haven't exactly kept my hand busy reeling in tons of fish. I launched at Newport last week and headed south to Corona Del Mar and worked the kelp beds about 75 yards off the shore. I saw a bunch of baitfish and tried using the sabiki thing to get some bait. But they just swam by pretty uninterested. I jigged plastics up and down for some bass, but nada. Anyone else have any luck around Newport lately?

I'm assuming this is probably the slowest time of the year to fish. The warmer water I've heard make the fish more active and bring in some of the other species.

Thanks again to all who post!!!

Southman
Southman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
Ggiannig89

X2 THANKS everybody. I'm new also and appreciate the posts
Ggiannig89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:39 PM   #3
DanaPT