Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-12-2011, 12:53 PM   #1
tasteslikechikn54

custom bait tube...

What's up ladies and gents, I'm new to the kayaking scene and have concluded that I am now obsessed with this "thing"... I went out today and bought all materials to build a bait tube... I just had some questions and would greatly appreciate any input you folks might have... Personally, I feel as if having a bait tube would be far easier to manage than a live bait tank in the back of the kayak... The only downfall or disadvantage I see, is the amount of live bait I will be able to store... Any other disadvantages? Any input will go appreciated... Thanks.

tasteslikechikn54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 01:14 PM   #2
rossman
Marginally Irrelevant

A bait tube is all I have ever used since I've been yakin, and the two disadvantages I see is first, the obvious drag while paddling or peddling , and second, sardines do not travel well in a bait tube. They get beat up pretty bad, and if you have a mixture of macs and dines, the dines really suffer. In my tube, which is an 8 inch tube, 5 or 6 pieces of bait is about all I try to carry.

Good luck

The Rossman
"When beholding the tranquil beauty and brilliancy of the ocean’s skin, one forgets the tiger heart that pants beneath it; and would not willingly remember that this velvet paw but conceals a remorseless fang. "
— Herman Melville

Y'all come see me now, hear!
rossman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 01:25 PM   #3
tasteslikechikn54

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossman View Post