Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 09-05-2016, 07:08 AM   #1
InfidelYak

I need some wisdom!

I'm fairly new to kayak fishing and unfortunately my buddy whom I go out with is also new to it. So we're kinda teaching ourselves daily by reading forums or by literally just winging it lol we've only fished out of Dana Point so far and have only caught leopard sharks :/ the fights were great, but we're looking to catch some other varieties. Like bass and YTs. Should we just cruise around till fish come up on the finder? Or is there something else specific you guys are doing? Thanks in advance!
InfidelYak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 08:18 AM   #2
Dave Legacy

What you use for bait, how your present it, and where you deploy it decide what you'll be most likely to catch. Swimbait in the kelp or around boiler rocks will most likely produce bass. Drifting a whole squid around a sandy bottom will likely produce a leopard or bat ray. Shiny metallic spoon along the kelp line will probably score you a mackerel. So, what you need to do is decide what you want to catch, go where you think they live, and try to feed them something you think they'll like to eat.

Sorry if this is too basic, but I was under the impression that you might be new to coastal fishing in general.
Dave Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 09:24 AM   #3
HobieOneCanoebe

find structure like the man before said sand bottoms right next to reefs or other structure can get you halibut-sand bass and reefs/kelp can get you calico bass. YT swim all over the place so it's a numbers game go out enough and eventually you'll be in the right place at the right time.
HobieOneCanoebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 12:06 PM   #4
InfidelYak