Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Old 02-08-2018, 05:44 PM   #1
Jack210
Junior

Oceanside/Carlsbad

Just got a kayak and was planning on heading out in local waters before going to LJ. I have heard of artificial reefs off oceanside and carlsbad. I was wondering where exactly these are. On another note I used to surf at south Ponto beach and used to see a huge kelp bed off Grandview. I have not seen it in a year or two and I had always wanted to fish it. Does anyone know if it is growing back? Same goes for the Terramar kelp. I am a beginner and have a lot of questions. Sorry if I ask to many Hopefully I'll start posting good reports after I get racks to transport the yak
Jack210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 08:56 AM   #2
Dirty Curti

Yes, they are growing back. After 2016 most of it thinned out quite a bit so last year we were seeing a good growth in those areas. It takes a couple of years of cooler water to restore the Forrest.

I fish these areas depending on the surf conditions. We've had some good fishing where we are getting nice Yellows, big calicos and sandies an occasional Thresher. The bait has been plentiful and pretty easy to fill your bucket.

Watch for the right conditions and charge as much as you can. Should be another good year.

Dirty Curti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 11:25 AM   #3
mattamatta

I was out in front of the inlet/outlet jetties for a while on Sunday and came across a fairly small amount. There was a little paddy at the surface, maybe 5x10ft and a couple small clumps of vegetation I saw coming off the bottom while paddling around. I wasn't really looking for kelp though, so there may be more interesting stuff around there.