Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-29-2014, 12:00 PM   #1
rwoods81
Junior

Bait

Newbie here, so excuse the stupid question. I read in a lot of these threads about guys catching their own bait, greenies, spanish etc. Can someone please explain to this new salty how you go about catching your own bait. Are there certain areas to look? Is it a different rig?

Mahalo
rwoods81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 12:08 PM   #2
jsunmkly
Jason

I am not sure exactly where but you will have to find those bait fish with your fish finder.
Then you will use sabiki rig (store bought with small hook and artificial lure attached, usually comes in 6) to catch those bait fish.
Old 07-29-2014, 01:46 PM   #3
salty pirate

So you want to catch

your own bait. Ill give you my preferred bait in order live Squid, sardine, pacific "greenback" mackerel and spanish mackerel.

Catching live squid is for another day so the rig you need is a sabiki. I like the hayabusa sabiki in size 8. it is best to cut them in half and pinch the barbs, add a 1-3 oz weight and your ready to catch bait.

Look for bait in and along the kelp line. also watch for a disturbance on the surface usually it is bait, cast into it. Bait like to school with their own kind so if you don't find what you want keep looking. Sometimes the seals will lead you to the bait. A fish finder will help find schools below the surface and help keep that sabiki out of the kelp.

Good luck,
Eli
salty pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 04:59 PM   #4
User name

If I'm having trouble making bait I usually add tiny pieces of shrimp to the sabiki with the barb still showing.
User name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 06:24 PM   #5
jorluivil

Quote: