Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > Kayak Fishing Reports

Old 03-28-2016, 10:53 AM   #1
Viper3173

3/28 Skunked, flipped then sewage

Finally had a day off when the waves weren't too crazy and wanted to try to get a piece of the bite lately so I was on the water just before the sun was supposed to come up greater by ankle slappers. Birds and bait everywhere, made 10 or so within 15 mins and pinned one on top and one on dropper loop. The wind and swells (and even a little rain) picked up real quick and made for a chilly trek out to the corner. Made two loops out and back with no takers before I decided the weather wasn't worth my troubles and and headed in, it seemed like the rest of the yaks out had the same idea as I was on of the last in.

Of course with the 15-20mph winds the waves were a lot more aggressive than when I launched. I am still very new to landing a hobie in surf but I timed it really well, got to about 3' deep pulled the drive and attempted to hop out, unfortunately my pant leg was caught on my seat and by the time I freed it I had turned sideways and was greater by a broadside wave. First time dumping and of course, since the surf was small I didn't leash everything down. Fortunately I found my mirage drive pretty quick and brought the yak to shore. Two other guys had just landed, Austin and Ryan, and offered to go back out to help me find the 2 rods that I didn't leash down. Austin did manage to somehow find one of my beers on the ocean floor but my search was cut short when the guys working on the launch started pumping stagnant storm drain water down the beach (it was horrid, apparently the city told them that is how they wanted the nasty water removed instead of pumping it to the sewer...not cool). If anyone comes across my rods or hears of anyone finding any please let me know! I am going to try posting on a few other sites as well. One