Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge   Kayak Fishing Supplies

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 06:51 PM   #1
BrokeLoser
Senior Member
 
BrokeLoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 472
One more dumb question about Spectra...

I'm trying to figure out how much braid I need.
I've decided to back up 2 sealine 20's and 2 sealine 30's with 65#
Obviously, the line capacities printed on the reels are based on mono line.
How do I know how much braid these reels will hold so I know how big a spool to order. Someone has got to have this down to a science by now...huh...or is there a "braid chart" somewhere?
BrokeLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:05 PM   #2
bus kid
Team Keine Zugehörigkeit
 
bus kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Way out there
Posts: 2,853
I'm guessing 200 - 300 yrds should be good.

charkbait has the saltist listed as 400 yrds at 65 lbs of spectra. its mono cap is 270 yrds at 30.
the 20 sha is listed at 20/210 mono
the 30 sha is listed at
25/230 mono

http://www.charkbait.com/cs/csrd.htm
__________________

Não alimente os trolls------------Don't feed the trolls---------------インタネット荒らしを無視しろ


Last edited by bus kid; 03-23-2011 at 07:38 PM.
bus kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:10 PM   #3
bubblehide
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 552
Actually that's a great question that many of us have struggled with. I'm not sure if other companies are doing this, but Avet now publishes line capacity of thier reels for both mono and braid; so when I have the same question, I refer to their published information (the relevant part), and use it extrapolate so I can reasonably approximate the amount of braid needed.

Hope that helps.
bubblehide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:18 PM   #4
BrokeLoser
Senior Member
 
BrokeLoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblehide View Post
Actually that's a great question that many of us have struggled with. I'm not sure if other companies are doing this, but Avet now publishes line capacity of thier reels for both mono and braid; so when I have the same question, I refer to their published information (the relevant part), and use it extrapolate so I can reasonably approximate the amount of braid needed.

Hope that helps.
Hmmm..we may be on to something...Thanks for the tip
BrokeLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:18 PM   #5
Regor
Greg
 
Regor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chula Vista, ca
Posts: 506
Here's some specs on a Curado 300

Line Capacity - Mono: 12/240, 14/190, 20/120
Line Capacity - Braid: 50/205, 65/120, 80/105

If you can't find a spec for your specific reel, find a reel with the same mono capacity that also shows the braid equivalent.
Regor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:13 PM   #6
grey zone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: san diego
Posts: 131
I have 2 Avet JX reels filled to 3/16" from the edge of the spool with 50lb spectra and it takes aprox. 480 yds. of tightly packed spectra to bring them to this point. Pack your spectra very tight!
grey zone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:14 PM   #7
RedSledTeam
Daddeo
 
RedSledTeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OC
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokeLoser View Post
I'm trying to figure out how much braid I need.
I've decided to back up 2 sealine 20's and 2 sealine 30's with 65#
Obviously, the line capacities printed on the reels are based on mono line.
How do I know how much braid these reels will hold so I know how big a spool to order. Someone has got to have this down to a science by now...huh...or is there a "braid chart" somewhere?
How will PowerPro change the way I fish?
In addition to enhancing your enjoyment and increasing your catch, PowerPro slightly changes the way you set up for a day of fishing. PowerPro works great with any kind of reel, so you don't need any special equipment. Still, switching from mono to PowerPro is like trading your fly swatter in for a two-by-four: it takes a little care to get used to all that extra power!

So, check your reel capacity for the approximate mono equivalent (65# spectra = 16 lb mono and do the math: 300yds of 65# = ~300yds16# and vice-versa.
RedSledTeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:27 PM   #8
wiredantz
Currently @ MLO Territory
 
wiredantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Under the Shadow
Posts: 2,287
Thanks Red, ill keep this on my fav list.
wiredantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:31 PM   #9
bubblehide
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedSledTeam View Post
...

So, check your reel capacity for the approximate mono equivalent (65# spectra = 16 lb mono and do the math: 300yds of 65# = ~300yds16# and vice-versa.



Even better!
bubblehide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:59 PM   #10
BrokeLoser
Senior Member
 
BrokeLoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 472
I was almost embarrassed to start this thread. Glad I did.
BrokeLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:32 AM   #11
maui jim
Senior Member
 
maui jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 789
As I tell all my crews....No such thing as a dumb question....Just dumb answers...
__________________
maui jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 09:03 AM   #12
grey zone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: san diego
Posts: 131
When you fill up a reel first chose what lb. spectra you want to use, 50 to 65lb is what I use. I hate to waste spectra so I usually buy less than my reel will hold. I like 300yd spools, this is a lot of line and not too expensive. Twenty years ago you could not put this much pulling power on a small reel. If 300yds does not fill your spool to the level you want it, build up your spool with some mono. I usually put at least a small amount of mono on any reel before I put spectra on. If you put spectra straight to an aluminim spool put a piece of masking tape on it to keep it from slipping.

If you have a lot of reels to fill a 1500yd spool might be a good investment. I keep telling myself to get one. If you end up with odd but usefull lengths of spectra save it and splice it somewhere. All my old spectra ends up as backing.
grey zone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:33 AM   #13
Billy V
Senior Member
 
Billy V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bay Ho
Posts: 1,373
A little know fact...

Most tackle shops have (short spools) of spectra in various Lb Test up on the shelves. They will sell you these spools cheap and you can do a triple surgeon end loop - a cats paw - and another triple surgeon to make a strong connection with other short spools. (Its basically a wind on connection with spectra to spectra)
There are other knots that will work as well.

I've tied it for a few people when they were on a budget.
__________________
Billy V is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2002 Big Water's Edge. All rights reserved.