Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge   La Jolla Kayak Fishing Adventures

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2013, 04:46 PM   #1
Iceman
Senior Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 1-2 miles off the point
Posts: 4,583
Iceman's portable Fish finder

2nd Generation



__________________
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 04:51 PM   #2
JeffB
Senior Member
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: La Jolla
Posts: 834
That's pretty cool little setup. Portable set ups make it nice when using others yaks or boats. Especially when you fish the lakes that only allow there rentals on the water.
__________________
If you're looking for me I'm
JeffB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 05:14 PM   #3
catchnfish
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Victorville, Ca
Posts: 80
That's sweet, what did you use for the boom?
catchnfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 05:18 PM   #4
45user
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 279
Very nice! I like the idea of portable ff set up!
45user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 05:31 PM   #5
Iceman
Senior Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 1-2 miles off the point
Posts: 4,583
Quote:
That's sweet, what did you use for the boom?
RAM transducer mount
__________________
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 05:40 PM   #6
ctrujillo
Senior Member
 
ctrujillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: garden grove
Posts: 279
Fricken sweet andy.do you have the ram xducer mount in your shop if so whats the cost i gots to get me one
ctrujillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 06:07 PM   #7
blitzburgh
Senior Member
 
blitzburgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Corona
Posts: 1,768
Looks good Andy!
__________________
”The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it.”
~Thomas Jefferson
blitzburgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:03 AM   #8
Iceman
Senior Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 1-2 miles off the point
Posts: 4,583
I do have em in stock, the first one listed with the diamond mount 1" included. I can swap it out for the wedge mount if needed.

Retail is $48.95, I sell em for $44.95

http://www.rammount.com/NewProducts/...9/Default.aspx
__________________
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:24 PM   #9
JeffB
Senior Member
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: La Jolla
Posts: 834
Those are pretty cool. Might be something to look into
__________________
If you're looking for me I'm
JeffB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:10 PM   #10
TCS
Senior Member
 
TCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 363
Iceman
Does that setup have better resolution than a goop mounted transducer?
TCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:15 PM   #11
steveooo
Senior Member
 
steveooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,594
Sweet!

Got my wheels turning. Portable from kayak to skiff, plus would be fun to bring up to the sierras to do some ice fishing...
__________________
steveooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:24 AM   #12
Iceman
Senior Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 1-2 miles off the point
Posts: 4,583
Quote:
Does that setup have better resolution than a goop mounted transducer?
right in the water gives you a little more sensitivity.
__________________
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:42 AM   #13
YakMedic
Senior Member
 
YakMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: High Desert
Posts: 570
My kayak quiver is always changing and I only have a FF mounted on my hobie, it would be nice to be able to swap it around to the other yaks.

How does the entire unit mount onto the yak? Does it have a ram mount on the bottom of the battery case to keep it in place?
__________________
Grisso, Matt
Heroes on the Water

San Diego Chapter Coordinator
FeelFree Kayaks ProStaff
YakMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:14 PM   #14
Iceman
Senior Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 1-2 miles off the point
Posts: 4,583
Quote:
How does the entire unit mount onto the yak? Does it have a ram mount on the bottom of the battery case to keep it in place?
1" RAM Ball on the bottom is the best I have come up with. I swap it between Hobies using wedge mount in the sail mast fitting. For other kayaks just add the Yakattak track.

Here is my original, I have used this one for a couple years with different head units.

__________________
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:42 PM   #15
Iceman
Senior Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 1-2 miles off the point
Posts: 4,583
Here is another one I did today, sideways 1120 Pelican side mounted on Geartrac with the Go Pro too.



__________________
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:49 PM   #16
YakMedic
Senior Member
 
YakMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: High Desert
Posts: 570
That would work perfect, my other boats are Wildy's and they already have the slidetrax built in. I may have to go this route. Thanks for the info Andy
__________________
Grisso, Matt
Heroes on the Water

San Diego Chapter Coordinator
FeelFree Kayaks ProStaff
YakMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:45 AM   #17
IslanderFishing
Member
 
IslanderFishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Temecula
Posts: 79
Clean setup! Beats mine. I currently use the wedge mount in the sail mast fitting for my FF, but my transducer is mounted on my rudder and battery box is in hull. Might try yours instead. Just not sure if all would fit on sail mast since I have a Hobie Oasis (tandem). Might get in the way of the person in front. Oh well, FF is the priority! Lol.

Where's your shop, Andy? Do you sell the Pelican box, too?
IslanderFishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:53 AM   #18
Iceman
Senior Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 1-2 miles off the point
Posts: 4,583
Quote:
Hobie Oasis (tandem). Might get in the way of the person in front.
I tried using mine on the Oasis and it was not ideal with the space between the rear drive and the front seat.

Shop is in Sunset Beach and I do sell the 1120 Pelican cases.

www.oexsunsetbeach.com
__________________
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:10 AM   #19
IslanderFishing
Member
 
IslanderFishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Temecula
Posts: 79
Bummer. Still like the setup though. Might have to lean towards the Geartrac alternative. Just hesitant to drill holes. I'll try to pass by this week. Thanks again, Andy. My name's Troy, by the way.
IslanderFishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 08:37 PM   #20
Capt. JB
Junior
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 11
Great idea. Definitely using your idea and will buy from your store. Thanks.

-Josh
Capt. JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2002 Big Water's Edge. All rights reserved.