Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-08-2013, 02:23 PM   #1
SASQUATCH

good beginner setup?

i am new to kayak fishing. could anyone help guide me in selecting a decent rod and reel setup for ocean fishing? mainly for bass, rockfish, and halibut and such. don't want bottom line either, just about mid grade as far as budget goes.
SASQUATCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 03:11 PM   #2
Fiskadoro

Quote:
Originally Posted by SASQUATCH View Post
i am new to kayak fishing. could anyone help guide me in selecting a decent rod and reel setup for ocean fishing? mainly for bass, rockfish, and halibut and such. don't want bottom line either, just about mid grade as far as budget goes.
How about a Daiwa SL20SH filled with thirty power pro, for use with 15-25 pound topshots, on a 7ft Seeker or Calstar rated for 10-30 pound.

Here's the logic: That reel is light weight, easy to maintain, casts great, has a great clicker, and a good fast gear ratio. The drag is not that strong, only really suitable 20 pound but is enough for what you want to target.

You can hold it all day without wearing your arm out, it casts well enough for plastics, has enough capacity with the spectra to fish deep, and it cranks fast enough for fishing rockfish.

Halibut wise the drag is smooth as silk, and with that clicker you can drift for butts clicker on reel out of gear.

A good all around reel about 100 bucks new on sale, or fifty to 75 used on ebay.

Rod wise Seekers and Calstars are tough, they a light enough tip for halibut, and enough backbone for cranking up rockfish.

Spectra will allow you to fish deeper with lighter weight for rockfish, keep you on the bottom with better feel for halibut and it will cut through kelp for bass.